This came up as a random question in our game last time.
Can a blind wizard see with Wizard Eye?
We really have two idea here:
- no, because what affects vision on the caster affects the Eye,
- yes, because it's awesome.
One player said, if the answer is yes, he'll immediately make up a guy who does exactly that. I told him not to. While it's a cool thing to contemplate, it's going to require rulings basically every game, for every single thing. That's one thing for an NPC wizard, but another for a PC doing basically everything.
- How to cost Blindness when someone will have a spell on to make it irrelevant all of the time?
- How to deal with NMZs?
- Can you "conceal" the eye inside armor, like a light in a helmet lamp?
In the end, though, my answer is yes. Nothing in the spell says the wizard's disadvantages affect the spell, only spells that affect vision affect the spell.
So yes, you can blind a wizard and he, she, or it can cast Wizard Eye and see anyway.